The Mooroolbark and District Miniature Railway and Steam Club Incorporated was established in 1980 in the outer eastern suburb of Mooroolbark, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

The club was formed at a meeting at the Shire of Lillydale offices, with approximately 25 foundation members.  The meeting was chaired by Shire Recreation Officer, Pam Street.

Committee members elected at that meeting were as follows –

President: George Poar
Vice President: Bryan Buckland

Secretary: Peter Jones
Treasurer: Ron Fisher



The Shire of Lillydale (now Shire of Yarra Ranges), nominated several sites within the shire as appropriate to build a permanent track and finally the site at Kiloran Reserve in Mooroolbark was chosen.

The track was officially opened for public passenger carriage in April 1983.

The photos you see here were taken while digging the first tracks. The site is unrecognisable today!